NEWS

Monday, September 15th, 7:30pm:

The Last Bookstore is excited to host the book launch of Gretchen McNeil & Anna Carey’s newest books! Please join us as we celebrate their new releases with readings, Q&As, giveaways, book signings, cupcakes, and more!

About Get EvenThe Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars in Gretchen McNeil’s witty and suspenseful novel about four disparate girls who join forces to take revenge on high school bullies and create dangerous enemies for themselves in the process.

Bree, Olivia, Kitty, and Margot have nothing in common—at least that’s what they’d like the students and administrators of their elite private school to think. The girls have different goals, different friends, and different lives, but they share one very big secret: They’re all members of Don’t Get Mad, a secret society that anonymously takes revenge on the school’s bullies, mean girls, and tyrannical teachers.

When their latest target ends up dead with a blood-soaked “DGM” card in his hands, the girls realize that they’re not as anonymous as they thought—and that someone now wants revenge on them. Soon the clues are piling up, the police are closing in . . . and everyone has something to lose.

About Gretchen McNeil: Author of YA horror novels Possess, Ten, and 3:59, as well as the new mystery/suspense series Don’t Get Mad, beginning in 2014 with Get Even and continuing in 2015 with Get Dirty, all with Balzer + Bray for HarperCollins. Gretchen also contributed an essay to the Dear Teen Me anthology from Zest Books.

Gretchen is a former coloratura soprano, the voice of Mary on G4′s Code Monkeys and she sings with the LA-based circus troupe Cirque Berzerk. Gretchen blogs with The Enchanted Inkpot and was a founding member of the vlog group the YARebels. She is repped by Ginger Clark of Curtis Brown, Ltd.

About Blackbird: From the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is—and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze RunnerThe Darkest Minds, and Legend.

About Anna Carey: Anna Carey is the author of The Eve Trilogy, a post-apocalyptic adventure story set in the not so distant future. Her new contemporary thriller Blackbird is the first of a two part series. The sequel, Deadfall, will be released Spring 2015. Both series have been optioned by Warner Brothers, and together they will be published in over fifteen languages. She studied creative writing at NYU and has an MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. When she’s not writing she’s reading, hiking, traveling or telling elaborate, only moderately interesting stories about her dog.

Happy Labor Day from DTLA! Come by and say hello! WE’RE OPEN!

Saturday, August 30th, 11AM:

Join us for a storytime with Emmy-winning actor Tony Hale (Veep, Arrested Development) as he reads from his new picture book, Archibald’s Next Big Thing!

Signing to follow. Although reservations are not necessary, we ask that you please RSVP and reserve a copy of Archibald’s Next Big Thing so that we will have enough books on hand for everyone who would like one. Thanks!

 

Friday, August 15th, 7:30pm:

The Last Bookstore is thrilled to host Roxane Gay on her Bad Feminist book tour. She will be joined by several fantastic fellow writers for a night of readings and conversation emceed by Zoe Ruiz.

 

 

 

Thursday, August 14th, 7pm:

Wednesday, August 13th, 7:30pm:

The Last Bookstore is excited to host Sarah Cornwell as she celebrates her debut novel’s paperback release.

A family trip to the Jersey Shore goes awry as Olivia Reed searches for her missing son while wrestling with tumultuous memories and secrets from her past in What I Had Before I Had You, a highly compelling debut novel by Sarah Cornwell. With previous stories published in 2013 Pushcart Prize Anthology, The Missouri Review, and Mid-American Review, this award-winning writer seamlessly weaves together the past and present as she examines the relationships between mothers and daughters and the captivating forces of magic and memory.

This suspenseful narrative alternates between Olivia’s present-day search for her son and her transformative summer in the same shore town in 1987. Two decades later, after splitting up with her husband, Olivia returns to her hometown with her adolescent daughter, Carrie, and nine-year-old son, Daniel, who was recently diagnosed with bipolar disorder. Daniel disappears, triggering his mother’s haunting memories of the past and her fragile relationship with her own mother.

Olivia recalls the summer she was fifteen, when she bolted straight from childhood into adolescence and rebelled against her erratic, yet loveable, psychic mother. When Olivia has a psychic vision of her own–seeing the ghosts of her twin sisters– her mother dismisses it, propelling Olivia to leave home in search of the truth about her family and the secrets of her mother’s actions.

With a vibrant array of characters and the complex, surprising relationships between them, What I Had Before I Had You unravels a deeply mystical, poignant truth, written with psychological acuity and sophisticated prose.

“Captivating. . . . Depth of insight, dreamy prose, and an engrossing storyline mark this wonderful debut.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Sarah Cornwell grew up in Narberth, Pennsylvania. Her fiction has appeared or is forthcoming in publications including the 2013 Pushcart Prize Anthology, The Missouri Review, Mid-American Review, Gulf Coast, Hunger Mountain, and Alaska Quarterly Review, and has been honored with a Pushcart Prize, the 2008 Gulf Coast Fiction Prize, and finalist honors for the Keene Prize for Literature. In 2010, her screenwriting was recognized with the Humanitas Student Drama Fellowship. She was the Spring 2012 Writer-in-Residence at Interlochen Arts Academy and a 2011 Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation Creative Fellow for Pennsylvania State. Sarah has worked as an investigator of police misconduct, a writer in the schools, an MCAT tutor, a psychological research interviewer, a toy seller, and a screenwriter. She lives in Los Angeles.

Thursday, July 31st, 7:30pm:

 

Tuesday, July 15th, 7pm:

The Last Bookstore welcomes Tony Sacca, veteran Las Vegas entertainer, as he presents his biography chronicling his decades in show business.

Veteran entertainer, singer, producer, and TV host Sacca worked with biographer Arlene Krieger to tell his life story, detailing 50 years of entertaining people from casino showrooms to the White House.

In addition to discussing and signing his book, Tony Sacca will also perform, giving a glimpse into what has made him a Las Vegas stalwart.