05/09/2018

Amy Dresner, Erica Garza, Timothy Gager Reading

7:30 p.m.

The Last Bookstore presents three authors, in recovery, and all with remarkable stories, on how they lived. Dresner, My Fair Junkie – A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean, and Garza, Getting Off, are well known for their memoirs, while in Gager’s Every Day There is Something About Elephants, he uses his tools of recovery in the craft and subjects matter of hi flash fiction writing.

Pre-buy any/all of the books right here!

 

 

 

My Fair Junkie A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean – In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman’s twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

 

 

 

 

 

Getting Off – A courageous account of one woman’s unflinching and ultimately hopeful journey through sex and porn addiction. A fixation on porn and orgasm, strings of failed relationships and serial hook-ups with strangers, inevitable blackouts to blunt the shame – these are not things we often hear women share publicly, and not with the candor, eloquence and introspection Erica Garza brings to Getting Off.

 

 

 

 

Every Day There is Something About Elephants – Gager’s book consists of 108 flash fictions, ranging from 72 to 1,159 words. Every story has appeared previously in print or on the web. The stories show the range within the form of flash fiction, from narrative poem, shorter short story, to trips to bizarro-world where strange events evoke solid meaning and metaphor. Timothy has had over 500 total works features and these 108 are the best of the best.

 

 

 

Amy Dresner is a former professional stand-up comic, having appeared at The Comedy Store, The Laugh Factory, and The Improv. Since 2012, she has been a contributing editor of the online addiction and recovery magazine TheFix.com. She’s also written for the Good Men Project, The Frisky, Refinery 29, and has been a regular contributor to Addiction.com and PsychologyToday.com, where she has her own addiction blog entitled “Coming Clean.” My Fair Junkie is her debut book. Visit her website: www.amydresner.com

 

 

Born in Los Angeles to Mexican parents, Erica Garza has spent most of her adult life traveling and living abroad. She currently lives in Los Angeles with her husband and daughter. Erica’s essays have appeared in Salon, Narratively, BUST, Marie Claire, Good Housekeeping, Refinery29, Bustle, Alternet, Vivala, HelloGiggles, the Los Angeles Review, and Australia’s Mamamia and The Motherish. She has appeared as a guest on BBC Radio 4, Thom Hartmann’s The Big Picture, and August McLaughlin’s Girl Boner Radio. In 2010, she earned her MFA in Creative Nonfiction at Columbia University. Her memoir on sex addiction, Getting Off, is her first book.

 

Timothy Gager is the author of fourteen books of short fiction and poetry. Every Day There Is Something About Elephants, a book of 108 flash fictions, selected by over fifty-five editors, was released by Big Table Publishing in 2018. He’s hosted the successful Dire Literary Series in Cambridge, Massachusetts since 2001 and was the co-founder of The Somerville News Writers Festival. He has had over 500 works of fiction and poetry published and of which thirteen have been nominated for the Pushcart Prize. His work has been read on National Public Radio.