NEWS

Thursday, October 2nd,  7:30pm:

The Last Bookstore is thrilled to host LA-based musician and restaurateur Theresa Wahl as she discusses and signs her new book, Auntie Em’s Cookbook.

Theresa Wahl, chef-owner of retro L.A. hotspot Auntie Em’s Kitchen, showcases her simple and beloved recipes for breakfast, brunch, and dessert in a cookbook that celebrates seasonal and local flavors. Drawing inspiration from her past as a punk guitarist, Wahl pairs her recipes with a playlist, sharing her belief that food tastes better when there’s music in the kitchen.
Theresa Wahl got her start as a punk musician in the ’90s, before trading her guitar in for a skillet and becoming one of L.A.’s most popular caterers and the owner of Auntie Em’s Kitchen. Wahl has appeared on Sugar High hosted by Duff Goldman, Throwdown with Bobby FlayCupcake Wars, and most recently Chopped with Ted Allen, and everyone from Daily Candy to USA Today has praised her comforting food and irresistible baked goods. Visit www.auntieemskitchen.com for more information.

 

 

 

Sunday, September 28th, 7pm:

The Last Bookstore is pleased to welcome Kate Gale, with her new collection of poetry, Echo Light. She is joined by Red Hen authors Brendan Constantine & Nicelle Davis.

Kate Gale is the Managing Editor of Red Hen Press and Editor of The Los Angeles Review. She teaches in Low Residency MFA programs around the country and serves on the boards of A Room of Her Own Foundation and Poetry Society of America. Kate is the author six librettos including Rio de Sangre, a libretto for an opera with composer Don Davis which premiered in October 2010 at the Florentine Opera in Milwaukee. Her latest poetry collections are The Goldilocks Zone and Echo Light. She is also the editor of several anthologies and blogs for Huffington Post.

Brendan Constantine is a poet based in Hollywood. His work has appeared in numerous journals, most notably Ploughshares, FIELD, Zyzzyva, Ninth Letter, Poetry Daily, Verse Daily, ArtLife, PANK, and L.A. Times Best Seller, The Underground Guide to Los Angeles. His first book, Letters To Guns (Red Hen Press 2009), is now required reading in creative writing programs across the nation. His most recent collections are Birthday Girl With Possum (WriteBloody Publishing 2011) and Calamity Joe (Red Hen Press 2012). He has had work commissioned by the Getty Museum and he has received grants from the James Irvine Foundation and the National Endowment of the Arts. He is currently poet in residence at the Windward School and adjunct professor at Antioch University. In addition, he regularly offers classes in hospitals, prisons, shelters, and with the Alzheimer’s Poetry Project.

 

Originally from Utah, Nicelle Davis now resides in Lancaster, California, with her son, J.J. Becoming Judas is her second book. Her first book, Circe, is available from Lowbrow Press. Her third collection, In the Circus of You, will be released by Rose Metal Press in 2014. Her poems have appeared or are forthcoming in The Beloit Poetry Journal, The New York Quarterly, PANK, SLAB Magazine, Two Review, and others. You can read her e-chapbooks at Gold Wake Press and Whale Sound. She is the director of the Living Poetry Project. She runs a free online poetry workshop at The Bees’ Knees Blog and is an assistant poetry editor for Connotation Press and The Los Angeles Review. She has taught poetry at Youth for Positive Change, an organization that promotes success for youth in secondary schools, and with Volunteers ofAmerica in their Homeless Youth Center. She currently teaches at Antelope Valley College.

Friday, September 19th, 7:30pm:

The Last Bookstore is thrilled to host Francesca Lia Block as she celebrates the release of her newest novel for adults, Beyond the Pale Motel. Joining her will be filmmaker Elgin James, as they discuss their work.

About Beyond the Pale Motel: Maternal, sexy Catt and her beautiful, daring best friend Bree are hairdressers at an L.A. salon called Head Hunter, and work out at a gym called Body Farm. They have over a decade of sobriety behind them and are getting close to living the lives they’ve always wanted.

But when Catt’s husband, Dash, leaves her, and then her neighbor is brutally murdered, possibly by a man being called the Hollywood Serial Killer, Catt’s world begins to come crashing down. The murdered victims all seem to bear a chilling resemblance to Bree. Catt suspects that Bree is the next target of the Hollywood Serial Killeris she losing touch with reality or simply coming to terms with the truth?

In Beyond the Pale Motel, a terrifying and intensely erotic novel, Francesca Lia Block explores the dangers of modern living, loving and dying with lyrical edge and sensational attitude.“Beyond the Pale Motel is sadder, darker, grimmer [than anything Francesca Lia Block has written], yet still glinting in spots with ethereal light and her trademark belief in the saving power of love.”~ Denise Hamilton, author of Damage Control and L.A. Noir

About Francesca Lia Block: Francesca Lia Block is the author of more than twenty-five books of fiction, non-fiction, short stories and poetry. She received the Spectrum Award, the Phoenix Award, the ALA Rainbow Award and the 2005 Margaret A. Edwards Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as other citations from the American Library Association and from the New York Times Book Review, School Library Journal and Publisher’s Weekly. Her work has been translated into Italian, French, German Japanese, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Finnish and Portuguese. Francesca has also published stories, poems, essays and interviews in The Los Angeles Times, The L.A. Review of Books, Spin, Nylon, Black Clock and Rattle among others. In addition to writing, she teaches fiction workshops at UCLA Extension, Antioch University, Marilyn’s Writing Pad and privately in Los Angeles where she was born, raised and currently still lives.

About Elgin James: Elgin James is a Los Angeles-based musician and filmmaker. His films include Little Birds (2012) and Goodnight Moon (2007). He is a former Sundance Screenwriting Institute Fellow, and was named by Variety as a “Director to Watch.”

 Photo by Bryan Sheffield

Monday, September 15th, 7:30pm:

The Last Bookstore is excited to host the book launch of Gretchen McNeil & Anna Carey’s newest books! Please join us as we celebrate their new releases with readings, Q&As, giveaways, book signings, cupcakes, and more!

About Get EvenThe Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars in Gretchen McNeil’s witty and suspenseful novel about four disparate girls who join forces to take revenge on high school bullies and create dangerous enemies for themselves in the process.

Bree, Olivia, Kitty, and Margot have nothing in common—at least that’s what they’d like the students and administrators of their elite private school to think. The girls have different goals, different friends, and different lives, but they share one very big secret: They’re all members of Don’t Get Mad, a secret society that anonymously takes revenge on the school’s bullies, mean girls, and tyrannical teachers.

When their latest target ends up dead with a blood-soaked “DGM” card in his hands, the girls realize that they’re not as anonymous as they thought—and that someone now wants revenge on them. Soon the clues are piling up, the police are closing in . . . and everyone has something to lose.

About Gretchen McNeil: Author of YA horror novels Possess, Ten, and 3:59, as well as the new mystery/suspense series Don’t Get Mad, beginning in 2014 with Get Even and continuing in 2015 with Get Dirty, all with Balzer + Bray for HarperCollins. Gretchen also contributed an essay to the Dear Teen Me anthology from Zest Books.

Gretchen is a former coloratura soprano, the voice of Mary on G4′s Code Monkeys and she sings with the LA-based circus troupe Cirque Berzerk. Gretchen blogs with The Enchanted Inkpot and was a founding member of the vlog group the YARebels. She is repped by Ginger Clark of Curtis Brown, Ltd.

About Blackbird: From the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is—and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze RunnerThe Darkest Minds, and Legend.

About Anna Carey: Anna Carey is the author of The Eve Trilogy, a post-apocalyptic adventure story set in the not so distant future. Her new contemporary thriller Blackbird is the first of a two part series. The sequel, Deadfall, will be released Spring 2015. Both series have been optioned by Warner Brothers, and together they will be published in over fifteen languages. She studied creative writing at NYU and has an MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. When she’s not writing she’s reading, hiking, traveling or telling elaborate, only moderately interesting stories about her dog.

Saturday, September 13th, 3:30pm:

“This will be the first time Miles will perform the material from his new album SOLO and ACOUSTIC!”

Miles “music man” Tackett is best known around the world as the creative mind & producer behind Breakestra, a heavy funk soul-jazz project which he has released three records with. He also founded & promotes Funky Sole, one of the longest running dance parties in Los Angeles where he spins sixties & seventies funk & soul vinyl every Saturday night at the Echo in Echo park.

He has performed with a wide range of artists, Cut Chemist, Damien Marley & Nas, Blind Melon, B.B. King, his father Fred Tackett of Little Feat, and legendary soul singer Syl Johnson.

After years of focusing on Breakestra Tackett has finally taken some time to reflect, write new songs and return to his first love, the electric guitar. With an array of influences that draw from vintage soul, rhythm and blues, psychedelia, and blues/jazz influenced folk and rock, his new record The Fool Who Wonders’  bring Tackett’s varied musical travels back to where it all began.

 

Showing August 20th- September 17th:

OPENING SATURDAY, September 6th! 7PM-10PM

Downtown Los Angeles Artwalk- September 11th 12PM- 10PM

We have a very special show this month with ten artists who use recycled materials in their art. Everything from dried slabs of paint, discarded wood, metal and bits, ephemera and all kinds of goodies make up this show entirely dedicated to the UPCYCLE!

Showcasing work by Curtis Brooks, Water Kerner, Kate Carvellas, Patrick Quinn, AnneMarie Rawlinson, Gunner Johnson, Winston Secrest, Carolyn Gair, Phillip Graffham and Sweetie Boosh.

Fold Gallery & Curio Shop is on the mezzanine above The Last Bookstore in the Spring Arts Tower at 453 South Spring Street DTLA 90013. Email at [email protected] for more information.

Happy Labor Day from DTLA! Come by and say hello! WE’RE OPEN!

Saturday, August 30th, 11AM:

Join us for a storytime with Emmy-winning actor Tony Hale (Veep, Arrested Development) as he reads from his new picture book, Archibald’s Next Big Thing!

Signing to follow. Although reservations are not necessary, we ask that you please RSVP and reserve a copy of Archibald’s Next Big Thing so that we will have enough books on hand for everyone who would like one. Thanks!

 

Friday, August 15th, 7:30pm:

The Last Bookstore is thrilled to host Roxane Gay on her Bad Feminist book tour. She will be joined by several fantastic fellow writers for a night of readings and conversation emceed by Zoe Ruiz.

 

 

 

Thursday, August 14th, 7pm: